GFTU Emplaw Emplaw Emplaw

Social Security /Key card

Key Points

  • There are broadly five categories of benefit: contributory benefits ; non-contributory benefits; industrial disease or injury benefits; income-related (means-tested) benefits; and child benefit.
  • Contributory benefits are listed in section 20 of the Social Security Contributions and Benefits Act 1992 and non-contributory benefits are listed in section 63 of the Social Security Contributions and Benefits Act 1992.
  • There are six classes of NICs (see Part I of the Social Security Contributions and Benefits Act 1992).
  • There has been significant reform of the benefit system since 2013 
  • Universal Credit is replacing a range of working-age benefits via a staged roll-out;Personal Independence Payment has replaced Disability Living Allowance;and a benefit cap has been introduced.
  • The Government can recoup benefit payments from compensation awarded to an individual in respect of the same accident, injury or disease.

Universal Credit, when available, replaces the following means tested benefits: 

  • income support
  • income-based jobseeker’s allowance
  • income-related employment and support allowance
  • housing benefit (other than for  certain types of supported or emergency accommodation , such as hostels)
  • child tax credit and working tax credit 

The full content of this page is available to subscribers only. Please purchase a subscription if you feel this content will be of use to you.


Login or subscribe (includes subscription information) to access the full content of this page.